Buckeye Tree Lodge/ Sequoia National Park/ California

November 17th, 2011

With our children aged 2 to 16 years, we toured in fall in the western U.S. state: California. We spent a week near San Francisco and traveled ten days around visiting Sacramento, the Valley of the Kaweah, Sequoia National Park and Los Angeles. We slept in different Super-8 motels and spent also three nights in the Buckeye Tree Lodge in Three Rivers.

The lodge is located right on Sierra Drive in Three Rivers, just before the entrance to Sequoia National Park. Our journey took longer than planned, we reached the lodge four hours later, exactly at midnight. However, we were greeted very friendly and the owner handed us our room keys in person.

We had booked two rooms that were connected by a door. So we slept very comfortably and the older children were enjoying their own empire. Every morning, our rooms were cleaned up by a very friendly room service, she assorted all soft toys, too, and put a basket of fruit and drinks in each room. In the bathroom many signs points to the conservation of resources. For us, very surprising, because our point of view was: USA = waste of resources.

But the best part was directly beyond the lodge: huge stones in the river bed. All children were climbing and jumping. We canceld all the planned tours for a day and were relaxing by the riverside. Hummingbirds flew over us and during the day the fog moved from Sequoia National Park down to the Kaweah valley.

We parents liked the connected rooms, the fridge for our breakfast milk and the obligatory coffee and tea set.

The Buckeye Tree Lodge is a good starting point for tours of the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park.

We are pleased about your visit to our website. If the information here is useful for you or if you just browsed for fun, you can express your thanks with a small donation. We appreciate any amount from 10 cents to 10 euro.

Leave a Reply

*

Buckeye Tree Lodge/ Sequoia National Park/ Kalifornien, USA

November 17th, 2011

Mit unseren Kindern zwischen 2 und 16 Jahren bereisten wir im Herbst den westlichen Bundesstaat der USA: Kalifornien. Wir verbrachten eine Woche in der Nähe von San Francisco und reisten zehn Tage nach Sacramento, ins Kaweah Valley um den Sequoia National Park zu besuchen und nach Los Angeles. Wir schliefen in verschiedenen Super-8-Motels und verbrachten drei Nächte in der Buckeye Tree Lodge.

Die Lodge befindet sich in Three Rivers direkt am Sierra Drive, kurz vor dem Eingang zum Sequoia National Park. Unsere Anreise dauerte länger als geplant, wir erreichten die Lodge vier Stunden später, genau um Mitternacht. Trotz allem wurden wir sehr freundlich begrüßt und uns unsere Zimmerschlüssel persönlich überreicht.

Wir hatten zwei Zimmer gebucht die mit einer Tür verbunden waren. So schliefen wir sehr komfortabel und die großen Kinder genossen ihr eigenes Reich. Jeden Morgen räumte der nette Zimmerservice unsere Zimmer auf, sortierte Plüschtiere und stellte einen Korb mit Getränken und Obst in jedes Zimmer. Im Bad wiesen zahlreiche Schilder auf die Schonung der Ressourcen hin. Für uns sehr überraschend, war doch unser Bild von Amerika=USA=Verschwendung.

Das Schönste aber lag direkt hinter der Lodge: riesige Steine im Flussbett. Alle Kinder kletterten und sprangen. Wir strichen für einen Tag alle Touren und entspannten am Fluss. Über uns flogen Kolibris und pünktlich zu Mittag zog der Nebel vom Sequoia National Park ins Kaweah Tal hinab.

Uns Eltern gefielen die verbindbaren Zimmer, der Kühlschrank für unsere Frühstücksmilch und das obligatorische Kaffe-/Teeset.

Die Buckeye Tree Lodge ist ein guter Ausganspunkt für Touren durch den Sequoia und den Kings-Canyon Park.

 

Wir freuen uns über Ihren Besuch auf unserer Webseite. Wenn die Informationen hier für Sie nützlich waren oder Sie einfach nur Spass am stöbern hatten, können Sie sich mit einer kleinen Spende bedanken. Wir freuen uns über jeden Betrag von 10 Cent bis 10 Euro.

Leave a Reply

*